Before Outreach, the Waiting Game

Posted: August 17, 2013 in Bangkok, Travel
Tags: , ,

Outreach, its a favourite activity for the likes of me. Isolated palm oil plantations, ancient forests, endless imposing slums and congested back lanes of urban mazes.

Depending on the issues affecting marginalised community, outreach workers generally provide counselling, direct aid, or do what needs to be done to improve quality of life.

Anyway, I dislike the confinement of a stifling office, the freezing condition of a conference hall or simply a meeting room where people in 3-piece wool suits or standing on expensive 4-inch heels like to trade intellectual thoughts of human rights.

Give me an opportunity for outreach in wilderness, punishing terrain, urban or rural, and I’ll give you a wide grin.

Now, all I have to do is wait for the answer, that impatient streak where I struggle against the onslaught of adrenaline. Kretek in between my fingers, a can of fizzy drink near my feet. I’m eager to throw myself into the next outreach. Please make it soon.

 

Leave a Reply

